top of page

Do you really want it? Or are you just lying?


This is Birdie's 27th personal article

 

In life, there’s a lot of times that we might face the situation that we’re given a chance to go somewhere logically better, do something logically better or just given a chance for something logically better.

But, sometimes you don’t want that “Logically better” thing, you prefer some other things over the “better option”. There are many reasons to why we don’t choose the “better option”. For example, the option is not in line with your heart which simply means you don't like it.

But for today, we will be talking about not choosing those option due to a negative mindset.

 

Today’s topic came up rather suddenly, it’s a thought I came up when I was chatting with my friend about working out. To be exact is actually talking about our physique. Because we are going to the gym quite often recently so we talked about what kind of physique that we want to have. While we're chit-chatting, we told each other about the physique that we are chasing for.

Till here, everything was normal until my friend said, “actually different people have different goals, as long they hit their own goal, they are considered successful”. This seems like a quote that can fit not only in not only the gym context but the life context. Because it’s pretty obvious that not everybody has the dream of their parents’ dreams. That’s why some child became really rebellious when parents force their child to become their dream.

But at that point of them, unconsciously I just replied this. “Yea, it’s true that everybody has different goals and they are considered successful when they reached their personal goal. But that’s only true when their goal is their real goal. Not just a goal that’s made up so he can stay in his comfort zone.

The example I gave an example about physique at that time because of the context. For example, there’s someone who is not obese but slightly fatter. He always jealous of how others have 6 packs or look fit in clothing. But when you ask him why you don’t wanna hit the gym or do some exercise? He will say, I’m happy with my body and I want to remain here.

Can you see the contradiction?

 

The “better option” in that sense would be to go out and put in some work to get the body that he wants, but he chooses to remain where he is and say that that’s the body he wants. There are many other similar cases for example like working at a bigger company for better future, but chose to stay because it’s too competitive inside.

There will be a lot more but the idea is sometimes we tend to give ourselves this kind of reason for us to stay inside our comfort zone. It’s not entirely our fault because sometimes our brain prefers the comfort zone.

But we need to look deeper into ourselves like is it really the thing we want?

Is giving up the better option really worth it? Or is it just you are too lazy to take action for the “better option” and use "I'm happy with who I am now" as a shelter for yourself?

 

Lastly, I want to say that, I’m changing my style of blogging. Again I know. Because I found out for the past few weeks, I had been forcing myself to write a post and sometimes, even if I suddenly want to write, I will need to wait for the weekend.

So, now I want to make my blog more personalized and relax. Which means I will update it as and when I like (doesn’t mean disappearing for long time). But whenever I really learn something or really have something came to my mind like this. Then I’ll share with you guys.

Alright, that’s all for today! I hope you like it and if you like it, don’t forget to scroll down below to subscribe to my mailing list! Thankyou and Bye~~

 

t's your choice

To live in your dreams or to be living your dreams

-BirdieChao

 


bottom of page