top of page

My Reflection after one month into Internship

This is Birdie's 29th Personal Article

 

It's been 6 months since I last written a blog post, I know, but I really can't stop myself today to write this blog post for you guys because I think it will be really useful for every single one of us. Especially if you are having your internship.

If you have been following my Insta-Story for a while, you should be well aware that my internship is not the best internship that one can get. Therefore, it really got me into this emotional roller coaster for the past 1 month. However, this is not a post about how bad my internship was but rather, is about the thoughts that pop up in my mind when I submerge myself in this sea of emotion.

After I started my intern, I finally realise how different work life is as compared to school life. In school, I have a very free timetable where every day I have a different starting and ending time. However, we do have quite a number of assignments/homework that needs to be submitted from time to time. It was also easier for me to slot in different activities like going to the gym after school.

Whereas during an internship, I basically turn into a robot, having a fixed starting and ending time. During this period, I am expected to drain my energy and deliver value to my company and not daydreaming away. After work ends, I will go straight home and most of the time, there isn't anything that requires me to bring home to complete, I'll immediately get myself comfortable and start indulging myself in any entertainment possible to reward myself after such a long day.

See yourself doing the same thing as well?

That is exactly the reason why the average stays average, being stuck in the middle class which is the new poverty in a first world country like Singapore. (Think about the mortgage, the bills and your expenses in Singapore. I haven't even included the cost for a car, all the best middle class.)

This is based on a very simple logic.

What we know = What we can deliver = What we will be earning

Most of the time, especially during an internship, we expect our boss/supervisor to teach different things in order for us to be good at the task. However, your boss/supervisor is your boss/supervisor for being good at what they do, not because they are at that rank teach newbies like you and me.

Well, you can say "This is internship what! We are here to learn from our boss what! If not, why am I even here for an internship?"

Erm.. True? But would you rely all your learnings on your boss? The reason why I say what I said above is because I have been asking my boss to teach me several different things about sales since the first day of my work. But guess what? Whatever I learnt during my internship is from the 30+ videos I watched on Youtube, a copywriting course from Lynda.com and a book about sales recommended by my colleague.

Am I going to hate my boss for that? No? He said that he will teach me once he has the time, it's just that he has yet to find the time after one month. What can I do?

I don't wanna be a step person like last time again giving tips when sometimes I'm not even practising it myself. We all know what we should do, it's really up to ourselves if we want to improve ourselves during this period or not.

But for those that are curious about my plans, curious about what I'm intending to do for the 2 hours after work. Just go over to my Instagram @Birdie_YuChao and say hi to me! I will share with you.

If not, just remember, the best investment one can make is to invest in himself/herself.

Thank you for reading my blog post, a like by clicking on the heart below will be highly appreciated. Hope you have a wonderful time reading my post and all the best in your investment.

 

It's your choice

To live in your dreams

or to be living your dreams

-BirdieChao

 


bottom of page